Oscar Movies Winners 2014

See special effects evolve from Wings to Interstellar in this Oscars VFX supercut

This year’s Oscars race has Ex Machina, Mad Max: Fury Road, The Martian, The Revenant, and Star Wars: The Force Awakens competing for Best Visual Effects, but before a winner is named a new video is looking back at all the past winners in the category.

Known as “Best Special Effects” from 1938 to 1962, the category continued under its current moniker in 1963. Iconic films like The War of the Worlds (1953), Mary Poppins (1964), E.T. the Extra Terrestrial (1982), Who Framed Roger Rabbit? (1988), The Matrix (1999), Jurassic Park (1993), and three Star Wars films have won the award throughout history.

Previous Best Picture winners like Forrest Gump (1994), Titanic (1997), and Gladiator (2000) make appearances in the nine-minute video, though the supercut also drives home the fact that no Best Picture winner has won Best Visual Effects since 2003’s The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King.

Watch clips from all 78 visual effects champions in the video above, and tune in to the 88th Oscars this Sunday to see which of this year’s nominees will join the elite list of winners.

See also:
  • homework causes stress
You might also like
2014 Oscar Winners - Dallas Buyers Club on OSN
2014 Oscar Winners - Dallas Buyers Club on OSN
Related Posts