Awards Songs

2016 ACM Awards Song and Songwriter of the Year Nominees Announced

The Academy of Country Music has revealed the nominees for two more categories in the upcoming 2016 ACM Awards.

Chris Stapleton, Little Big Town, Cam, Keith Urban and Eric Church and Eric Paslay have been nominated for Song of the Year, an award that goes to the songwriters, publishers and artists. Nashville hitmakers Rodney Clawson, Ross Copperman, Ashley Gorley, Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne are nominated for Songwriter of the Year.

The ACM announced the nominations in a press release Thursday (Feb. 18). The nominees for Song of the Year were chosen differently this year.

“The ACM Board of Directors recently voted to revise the prestigious Song of the Year Award criteria to allow the greater songwriting community a stronger voice in determining the final nominees, ” explains Tiffany Moon, Executive Vice President and Managing Director of the Academy of Country Music. “Songwriters are at the inception of all of this; we’re privileged to have their expertise in choosing the most well-crafted songs.”

A professional panel of award-winning songwriters helped select the nominees for Song of the Year, which the Composer class of the ACM’s membership then voted on to select the songs that would appear on the final ballot.

Stapleton now leads 2016 ACM nominations with seven, which include Male Vocalist and Album of the Year. He’s already won big at both the CMA and Grammy Awards for his acclaimed debut album, Traveller. Cam has six total nominations, while Little Big Town have five. Church also has five total nods, while Urban has three.

Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley will host the 2016 ACM Awards, which will air live on April 3 from Las Vegas on CBS at 8PM ET. Check out the complete list of nominees.

2016 ACM Awards Song of the Year Nominees

“Burning House, ” Cam
Songwriters: Jeffrey Bhasker, Tyler Johnson, Cam
Publishers: Marvelous Oaks Records (ASCAP), Creative Pulse Music (BMI), One Year Yesterday Publishing (BMI), Sony/ATV Songs LLC (BMI), These Are Pulse Songs (BMI), Way Above Music (BMI)

“Girl Crush, ” Little Big Town
Songwriters: Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose
Publishers: HillarodyRathbone Music (ASCAP), Hoodie Songs (BMI), Songs of Crazy Girl Music (BMI), Songs of Universal Inc (BMI), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)

“Nobody to Blame, ” Chris Stapleton
Songwriters: Chris Stapleton, Barry Bales, Ronnie Bowman
Publishers: House of Sea Gayle Music (ASCAP), WB Music Corp (ASCAP), Quackhead Music (BMI), RayLynn Publishing (BMI)

“Raise ‘Em Up, ” Keith Urban feat. Eric Church
Songwriters: Tom Douglas, Jaren Johnston, Jeffrey Steele
Publishers: Jeffrey Steele Music (BMI), Sony/ATV Tree Publishing (BMI), TomDouglasMusic (BMI), Sony/ATV Harmony (ASCAP), Texa Rae Music (ASCAP)

“She Don’t Love You, ” Eric Paslay
Songwriters: Eric Paslay, Jennifer Wayne
Publishers: Five Stone Publishing (ASCAP), Spirit Two Nashville (ASCAP), Songwriters of Platinum Pen Publishing (BMI)

2016 ACM Awards Songwriter of the Year Nominees

Rodney Clawson

You might also like
"Blake Shelton - Honey Bee - ACM Awards 2011"[2011 NEW SONGS]
"Blake Shelton - Honey Bee - ACM Awards 2011"[2011 NEW SONGS]
STAR Parivaar Awards 2003 Title Song
STAR Parivaar Awards 2003 Title Song
Related Posts