2012 Academy Awards

2012 Academy Award Recipients

PhotoThese awards are given for outstanding contributions to the AAP and the profession of periodontics.

Based on recommendations from the Leadership Development and Qualifications Committee, the Research Submissions Committee and the Education Committee, the Board of Trustees selected the following recipients of 2012 AAP awards. The recipients were recognized at the 2012 AAP’s Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, CA.

Gold Medal: Dr. Preston D. Miller, Jr.

The highest award bestowed by the Academy, this award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of periodontics. Founded in 1967, it is sponsored by Sunstar Americas, Inc.

Dr. Preston D. Miller, Jr., has been active in the Academy since 1968, serving on more than 20 AAP committees, representing District 3 on the Board of Trustees for six years, and eventually serving as president in 2006-2007. Dr. Miller has also been involved in the AAP Foundation as a member of its Board of Directors and Visionary Society. He is a peer reviewer for the Journal of Periodontology, has published numerous articles in refereed periodontal journals and contributed to four textbooks, and has lectured extensively throughout the world. In a letter of nomination for this award, one of his peers stated that it would be unusual not to find Dr. Miller’s name among the faculty in nearly every Annual Meeting program over the last several decades. His leadership qualities have been recognized by other dental organizations as well.Photo He served as president of the Southern Academy of Periodontology, the Memphis Dental Society, and the Tennessee Society of Periodontists, and was vice president of the Tennessee Dental Association. In 2003, he was named Tennessee Dentist of the Year. A born teacher, Dr. Miller sold his practice in 2008 and now shares his skills as a clinical professor at the dental school at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Master Clinician: Dr. Leonard S. Tibbetts

This award is given to an Academy member who has practiced and demonstrated consistent clinical excellence in periodontics. This award is sponsored by Hu-Friedy.

Dr. Leonard S. Tibbetts has contributed to the clinical practice of periodontics in many ways. He has a keen understanding of dental anatomy and the proper rationale for performing osseous surgery and periodontal microsurgery and is known by his peers as a go-to source on these topics. A gifted surgeon, he readily shares his expertise with others, inviting colleagues into his office to observe his technique, writing numerous articles in peer-reviewed journals and periodontal textbooks, as well as lecturing and teaching clinical courses across the globe.Photo He was instrumental in adding intravenous sedation to the postdoctoral curriculum—a formidable task that has had a tremendous impact on periodontists’ scope of practice—and was one of the first periodontists to use a surgical microscope. Dr. Tibbetts believes that individual clinicians can be a huge force in advancing the specialty and his career is a testament to that conviction. As one colleague described, “Dr. Tibbetts is a detail man in everything he does and the major beneficiaries are his patients.” In addition to his clinical innovation, Dr. Tibbetts has contributed to organized periodontics, serving as president of the AAP, the AAP Foundation, the Southwest Society of Periodontists, and the Texas Society of Periodontists.

Distinguished Service and Parliamentarian Emeritus: Dr. Milton Palat

Established in 2008, the Distinguished Service Award is presented to an AAP member selected for distinguished service to the Academy in more than one area, over a period of not less than 20 years.

Dr. Milt Palat has served as the Academy’s parliamentarian since 1996, providing guidance at AAP Board of Trustees meetings and at the General Assembly. In addition, Dr. Palat has trained AAP officers and Board members in the Sturgis Code of Parliamentary Procedure to ensure that meetings are orderly and fair, and discussions are relevant and productive. Under Dr. Palat’s guidance, the Board has become more disciplined in its debates on even the most controversial issues. Dr. Palat has been a resource in determining whether decisions are in keeping with Academy policy and he has continually performed his role with grace and diplomacy. He has mentored 16 presidents in facilitating Board proceedings and all have turned to him for advice and counsel. Dr. Palat received his dental degree at Temple University in 1953, his periodontal certificate from New York University (NYU) in 1972, and his JD from Rutgers University in 1981. A member of the AAP since 1968, Dr. Palat is also a former chair of the periodontics department and predoctoral program director at NYU College of Dentistry. In addition to receiving a Distinguished Service Award, Dr. Palat has been named Parliamentarian Emeritus in honor of his 16 years of service as the Academy’s parliamentarian.

Distinguished Service: Dr. Leslie M. Salkin

Photo Photo Photo Photo
See also:
  • Nueva tecnologia de brackets Barcelona precios de interés.
You might also like
2012 Oscar - 84th Academy Awards - FULL ceremony PART 4
2012 Oscar - 84th Academy Awards - FULL ceremony PART 4
Bad Weather goes to the Oscars (Academy Awards 2012)
Bad Weather goes to the Oscars (Academy Awards 2012)
Academy Awards 2012 Promo (Spoof)
Academy Awards 2012 Promo (Spoof)
2012 IIFA International Indian Film Academy Awards
2012 IIFA International Indian Film Academy Awards
Related Posts